A memory box for dementia?

by mymothersbrain

Studies and technology regarding Alzheimer’s and other forms of dementia are emerging on an almost-daily basis. Here are the links to two New York Times stories about a study and a potentially helpful gadget for those afflicted with dementia.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/09/health/09memory.html?scp=8&sq=alzheimers&st=cse

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/09/health/09alzh.html?scp=2&sq=alzheimers&st=cse

One story deals with the possibility of Alzheimer’s being spurred by a defense against infection. I’ve not had enough time to read it and digest what it means, so I’m just posting the New York Times link to it.

The other story is about a black box called a Sensecam. This box, created in a Microsoft research lab with technology licensed by British company Vicon, records hundreds of images. It was originally conceived as a digital tool for young people who want to photographically record aspects of their lives and upload to sites such as Facebook and Youtube. (OK, this sounds like a regular old digital camera to me, but what do I know? I’ll let folks read for themselves.) Anyway, could it help people with dementia record their daily activities so that they can peruse images and “remember” what they’ve done? Some folks think so.

I know that when my mother-in-law’s dementia wasn’t quite so advanced my husband could show her old photographs of her family and she could still identify them. “That’s my mother,” she’d say. Or, “That’s Grandpa.” All too soon she lost that ability, and now it’s plain hard to get her to even look at us. Still, it’s good to know that researchers are leaving no stone unturned in the quest for what might help those of us who are grappling with dementia in our parents.

New statistics came out yesterday from the Alzheimer’s Association, and I’ll post those a bit later or tomorrow.

