In memory of one of the strongest women I was privileged to know

by mymothersbrain

In memory of one of the strongest women I was privileged to know

My mother-in-law lost her battle with Alzheimer’s Friday, March 29, 2013. While we’re saddened by her passing, it’s a huge relief that she’s no longer struggling with this dehumanizing illness. We will bury her later this week, and in her honor, I’m reposting a Mother’s Day piece that I wrote two years ago about the relationship I had with one of the strongest women I know. While we had our differences, I can honestly say that she was more than my mother-in-law. She was someone with whom I could travel, shop, watch movies, discuss books and news. She loved attention, and I bet she was giggling a little bit at the fuss caused at the residential care facility when the wonderful hospice nurse who called in her death inadvertently pressed a wrong number, summoning several uniformed officers to her room.

She wasn’t just my mother-in-law; she was my friend. Godspeed, Nina L. Doty. 

